The Bookish Box, December “Yule Ball” Unboxing

I received this box last week, but didn’t want to spoil any unopened Christmas gifts so I waited to reveal the goodies within until now! The Bookish Box was created by the team over at Appraising Pages and is a monthly subscription box that perfectly describes itself! Unlike other book boxes, this subscription does not include a novel each month, but instead, features a shirt designed by Appraising Pages as well as a variety of 3-5 high quality and usable home, beauty, and fashion items inspired by everyone’s favorite books and characters! The December theme was “Yule Ball,” and being a Harry Potter fanatic let me tell you – I was not disappointed!!


This box was a purchase for my self and own use. It was in no way sponsored by or provided by a third party.


 

openbox

Subscription Details:

The Box: The Bookish Box
The Cost: Starting at $29.99 plus s&h, upgrades/add ons are available for additional $$$
Discounts: Varies by rep, 10% off your first month
What’s Inside: All boxes include a shirt and 3-5 home, beauty, and fashion items designed around the month’s literary theme

Our Thoughts:

I ordered this box as immediately upon hearing the theme announcement back in early November! Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was my absolute favorite book in the series and second favorite of the films (closely following the third installment, Prisoner of Azkaban). The Yule Ball was one of the most magical scenes, I can only imagine how amazing winter and Christmastime at Hogwarts would be!

Anyway, back to the good stuff! I purchased a one-time Nightmare Before Christmas box back in October (which was also amazing but I didn’t get around to posting it here) and I was pleasantly surprised, I’m so happy I gave this one a chance too!

There are three things that that make this box extremely desirable to me – the fact that every single item included is usable (you’ll find that as a reoccurring theme with me) on a day to day basis, the amazing and unique literature inspired themes that they come up with each month, and last but not least the plethora of customization/add on options! That  last one pertains specifically to the shirt, but the day when a theme comes along that I can’t live without, I will be the FIRST to upgrade to a hoodie!


Unboxing & Contents:
img_0182
December’s box contained 5 items, including the shirt designed by Appraising Pages. As always, there was a lovely little description card detailing the items and where they came from, as well as their retail values. I think that the value idea is useful, if nothing else so that you can compare cost to value and determine if it’s worth it or not (to you, everyone has the right to their own opinions of course!). I estimated the value of the entire box to be worth over $55, that’s almost double the cost of the box!


 

These were a few of the smaller bookish goodies inside, although I wouldn’t say anything but the pin was actually very small at all! It was difficult to take a picture of the pin without a horrid glare, but it’s gorgeously crafted & very well made! The candle included was a 6oz-er, which is bigger than most sample candles I’ve ever ordered. It smells magical, much like what I’d like to think Christmas at Hogwarts would. That glorious travel mug you see has a poster of the band that played during the Yule Ball, the Weird Sisters! I was actually in the market for a new mug, problem solved!

The lovely bookmark below was crafted by one of my favorite bookstagrammers, the very talented @lexyolivia! I am assuming each box received the same bookmark, it’s so pretty I am afraid to use it in fear of ruining all of its glory *cringes*.

dumbledore-bookmark-backdumbledore-bookmark-front


And last but never least, the wonderful shirt design by the team at Appraising Pages. Part of me was hoping that this would be some sort of wonderful bookish quote, but then I remembered I swore of wearing shirts with text because of my ehm, graciously proportioned upper half, and then I was very pleased with their work! After a closer look, I saw that the wreath is flecked with brooms, flying snitches, and Sorting Hats – I wonder if there is a way to decorate a real wreath with this much magic? And it’s sooo soft.


To say that I am pleased with the contents of The Bookish Box‘s December box would be an understatement. I am too huge a Harry Potter fan to underrate my excitement at the practicality of these items and their magical qualities. I may wait around until another box catches my interest to continue subscribing, but until then I’ll go back to my room where it smells of Christmas at Hogwarts and admire this month’s bookish treats!

Subscription Review: BookCase.Club

BookCase.Club is a monthly book subscription box that caters to fans of multiple genres including Young Adult, Mystery/Thriller, Sci-Fi, Children’s Paranormal Romance, Romance, Cookbooks, and Military. Each box includes 2 hand-picked books from the genre of your choosing along with an information page and a note from the team. My first month’s subscription was to the “Teenage Dream Case.”


This box was paid for by me, for me, specifically for use in this review. It was in no way sponsored by or provided by a third party.


img_1970

Subscription Details:

The Box: BookCase.Club
The Cost: Starting at $9.99 plus s&h ($5.00 to the US only)
Discounts: Varying, 10% off up to 25% off for a 3-month subscription
What’s Inside: 2 hand-picked novels from the genre of your choice

TRB Review:

This box was a bit of a different approach to the monthly subscription boxes that I’ve seen. Most of the ones that I’ve signed up for so far have been a bit pricey ($30+/month), but they’ve also been themed and have included more than just books (bookish themed goodies). I immediately liked this box because you know exactly what to expect from it – 2 mystery choice books and THAT’S IT! You are even able to switch your genre monthly, it just needs to be done by the time the new billing period begins (the 10th of each month).

The sign up options are simple and very similar to that of other boxes. You can get a 1, 3, 6, or 12-month subscription saving you anywhere from $2 per quarter up to $20/year.

pricing

There are two genre options that only send out quarterly (Cookbooks & Military) and the rest are a monthly subscription. Shipping is only available to US residents at the moment, but it is a flat rate of $5.00 per box and that seems completely reasonable to me.

Unboxing & Contents:

img_1985There is no real “presentation” with this box, but if you think about it it’s really not even necessary. Since this box only contains books, there’s no need for special innards or a certain style of packing. They packaged it well, there was some tissue paper taking up the excess space and the books were in perfect shape when they arrived.

Each box contains a page with a description/explanation of the books as well as a note or two from the team. The back has all of their contact info, which I love especially since the hashtags are there for you to reference on social media!

I also love that it was hand signed by Melissa, it’s a great personal touch!

In this month’s “Teenage Dreams Case” there were two YA books, one of which was a paperback and the other a hardcover. I like this combo because I can never choose what books I want to own in which format, it takes the guesswork out of it all and I was very pleased with having received a hardcover in the mix having paid less than $15 for the box.

img_1987The first of the two novels, Life After Theft by Aprilynne Pike, is a paperback YA novel published in 2014. Amazon says about the book, “Aprilynne Pike, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Wings series, shines in this stand-alone novel that offers a humorous twist on ghosts and is perfect for fans of Ally Carter, Rachel Hawkins, and Kiersten White. Paying for your mistakes takes on a whole new meaning in this clever and exhilarating modern retelling of The Scarlet Pimpernel. Kirkus Reviews called Life After Theft “a brisk, down-to-earth thriller,” and School Library Journal proclaimed it a “whirlwind adventure full of secrets, lies, unlikely friendships, and romance.”

Approx. Value: $9.99 via Amazon w/ free Prime shipping

img_1976The box’s second novel, Denton’s Little Death Date by Lance Rubin, is a hardcover reprint edition published in 2015. Amazon says, “Get ready to die laughing: this is an outrageously funny ride through the last hours of a teenager’s life as he searches for love, meaning, answers, and (just maybe) a way to live on.” Some reviews via Amazon – “Rubin is really funny but like John Green, he manages to be poignant at the same time. You’ll laugh out loud while you read this, but you’re probably going to tear up a bit too.” —Bustle

“An utterly enjoyable, engrossing page-turner.” — Bulletin

Approx. Value: $11.38 via Amazon w/ free Prime shipping

The overall worth of the books in this box came to just under $22.00 factoring in the free Prime shipping if you subscribe to that service. I paid $13.49 for my first box (using a 15% off code), that puts the savings at roughly $8.50 – that’s saving enough to buy another paperback book if you ask me! But here I am being a penny pincher ;)

Packaging Quality – 5/5
Content Quality – 4/5
Overall Rating – 4.5/5 

I was very happy with this subscription box, and plan to continue with my service! Although you truly aren’t saving a ton, the trouble of having to go to the store, read through and choose new books, etc. is all taken care of for you and coming from a chronically non-social person who doesn’t care to go to the bookstore anyway, it’s PERFECT!

The only thing that I am not a huge fan of, is that the books are not new releases. I don’t mind reading older books (these were within the last 2 years), and I imagine they get a discount purchasing books this way, but I think it would be more enticing if the content was a bit newer. Again though looking at the cost and convenience aspect, totally worth it.

If you haven’t already, make sure you check these guys out and get signed up. They offer great customer service, tracking info when your package ships, and a fantastic array of books delivered to your front door for a very minimal price. If you’re not a fan of all the “stuff” that comes with other boxes and don’t see paying for it if you won’t use it (like I came to the conclusion with my Owlcrate box earlier this month), and you don’t mind reading something that could be a few years old – then this is the box for you.

What subscription boxes are you subscribed to monthly? We are curious to find out and discover new boxes so please, comment below or contact us if you’d like for us to review a subscription box that you manage!

XOXO
Savana C.